Administrative Staff

Chicago Public Library organizational chart

Chris Brown, Commissioner

Chris Brown is a visionary leader with an unwavering commitment to redefining the role of public libraries. He currently serves as Library Commissioner for the Chicago Public Library (CPL), one of the world's largest library systems.

Brown and his dedicated team have focused on equity and expanded access. One of Brown’s first acts as commissioner was to visit all 81 CPL branches to get insights into the communities they serve—and how CPL can better meet the goals of equity and access for these communities. Landmark achievements have included implementing Sunday hours at every CPL location, establishing the first Book Sanctuary movement that continues to lead the efforts to protect banned books and be the model for how other cities can also protect this freedom. In addition, Brown worked diligently to secure a substantial increase in the collections budget in order to curate books that resonate with CPL’s diverse communities. Brown has taken bold steps to appoint CPL’s first Senior Equity Officer and Equity Officer. Through community engagement and a thorough equity assessment, CPL will continue to identify and dismantle barriers to access, cultivating an environment where every patron feels welcome and valued.

Brown also forged impactful partnerships and launched initiatives to address public health concerns. Working with the Chicago Department of Public Health, CPL has distributed thousands of lifesaving Narcan kits. Brown also championed the creation of a new mental health liaison position. Upholding the core value of equity, Brown's strategic initiatives, include a collaboration with the Department of Planning and Development to envision enhancements of CPL's infrastructure and implementation of best practices in the field.

Chris Brown's transformative leadership has elevated CPL to new heights, establishing it as a model of accessibility, innovation, and community empowerment. Recognized as a thought leader in the field, he has received numerous accolades and honors, including being named a Library Journal Mover & Shaker and winning the Urban Libraries Council Top Innovator Award and the John Cotton Dana Award from the American Library Association.

Mary Ellen Messner, First Deputy Commissioner

Teri Campbell, Deputy Commissioner, Administration and Finance

Maggie Clemons, Deputy Commissioner, Library Operations and Patron Experience

Desiree Abu-Odeh, Senior Equity Officer

Deanie Adams, Director, Sulzer Regional

Lindsay Braddy, Assistant Commissioner, Technology, Content and Innovation

Michelle Carnes, Division Chief, Central Library, Specialized Services

Shamil Clay, Director of Marketing

Esmeralda Cossyleon, District 3 Chief, West

Greg Diaz, District 4 Chief, Central

Shelley Hughes, Director, Children's Services and Family Engagement

Erema Jackson, Director, Finance

Shilo Jefferson, Director, Legler Regional

Julie Koslowsky, Director, Teen Services

Kate Lapinski, Director, Adult Services

Brent Lipinski, District 5 Chief, Southwest

Shenita Mack, Division Chief,  Central Library, General Information Services

Erin McKinnie, Director, Central Library

Patrick Molloy, Director, Government and Public Affairs

Renee Neumeier, Director of Staff Development

Mary Robinson, Director, Human Resources

Nesha Saunders, District 6 Chief, Southeast

Veleda Simpson, Director, Woodson Regional

Nicole Steeves, Director, Library Technology

Print this page